The Mike Westbrook Concert Band – ‘Marching Song’

April 10, 1969

The Mike Westbrook Concert Band – ‘Marching Song’

recorded March 31, April 1 & 10, 1969, London Deram SML 1047 and SML 1048 (UK) [LP], Deram MWB S-1 (USA) [2LP], Deram 844853-2 (UK) [2CD]

Dave Holdsworth, Kenny Wheeler, trumpet, fluegelhorn; Greg Bowen, Tony Fisher, Henry Lowther, Ronnie Hughes, trumpet; Malcolm Griffiths, Paul Rutherford, Mike Gibbs, Eddie Harvey, trombone; Tom Bennellick, french horn; Martin Fry, George Smith, tuba; Mike Osborne, alto saxophone, clarinet; Bernie Living, alto saxophone, flute; Alan Skidmore, tenor saxophone, flute; Nisar Ahmad Khan, Brian Smith, tenor saxophone; John Surman, baritone and soprano saxophones; John Warren, alto and baritone saxophones, flute; Mike Westbrook, piano; Harry Miller, Barre Phillips, Chris Laurence, bass; Alan Jackson, John Marshall, drums

Hooray! (Westbrook) 6:24

Landscape (Westbrook) 15:28

Waltz (Westbrook) 5:54

Landscape (II) (Westbrook) 8:00

Other World (Westbrook) 9:35

Marching Song (Westbrook) 3:02

Transition (Westbrook) 3:01

Home (Westbrook) 9:44

Rosie (Westbrook) 6:36

Prelude (Surman) 4:43

Tension (Surman) 4:38

Introduction/Ballad (Westbrook) 8:23

Conflict (Westbrook) 9:43

Requiem (Westbrook) 1:53

Tarnished (Surman) 5:58

Memorial (Westbrook) 2:18

The original UK edition was two LPs issued separately as Volume 1 and Volume 2. The USA edition and the CD reissue have both volumes in one package. Jazz Journal review; pre-release advert here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s